NABTU 2019 U.S. Legislative Conference, April 9 – 10


North America’s Building Trades Unions’ 2019 U.S. Legislative Conference, April 9 – 10
Leaders including House Speaker Pelosi, Labor Secretary Acosta, 2020 presidential candidates, Members of Congress, Wall Street and energy executives to address U.S. building trades members

Washington, DC – Thousands of national, state and local building trades leaders from across the country will gather in Washington, D.C. next week for the U.S. Legislative Conference of North America’s Building Trades Unions (NABTU).

The multi-day event at the Washington Hilton Hotel and Towers will feature plenaries with speeches from government, labor, political and business leaders. NABTU members will also be attending workshops and visiting Capitol Hill to demand Congress pass a robust infrastructure investment package, promote workforce development, and uphold strong labor standards for working families. Attendees will participate in community service projects across the city on Monday, and the plenary, workshops and Capitol Hill visits will take place on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Conference plenaries are open to credentialed press, and scheduled interviews may be con-ducted at the event.

What:  NABTU U.S. Legislative Conference
When: 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 Noon EST, Tuesday – Wednesday, April 9 – 10, 2019
Who:   Building trades unions and government, labor, political and business leaders

Tuesday plenary speakers (in speaking order):
· NABTU Secretary-Treasurer Brent Booker
· NABTU President Sean McGarvey
· U.S. Representative Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01)
· Illinois Governor J.B. Pritzker
· U.S. Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi
· American Petroleum Institute CEO Mike Sommers
· AFL-CIO Secretary-Treasurer Liz Schuler
· U.S. Labor Secretary Alex Acosta
· U.S. Representative Abby Finkenauer (IA-01)
· JPMorgan Chase CEO Jamie Dimon

Wednesday plenary speakers (in speaking order):
· John Hickenlooper, former Colorado governor
· U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren (MA)
· U.S. Senator Kamala Harris (CA)
· U.S. Representative Tim Ryan (OH-13)
· Terry McAuliffe, former Virginia governor
· U.S. Representative Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
· U.S. Senator Cory Booker (NJ)
· U.S. Senator Michael Bennet (CO)
· U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar (MN)

Press representatives wishing to attend must be confirmed in advance to receive proper press credentials. For more information, confirmation and credentials, please contact the NABTU press office at (202) 756-4623 or email Betsy Barrett at

# # #